Charles Sturt University logo
Meet Charlie contributor, Ada Crain

Meet Charlie contributor, Ada Crain

Written by Ada Crain

Hello! My name is Ada Crain and I am an 18 year old Bachelor of Animal Science student based in Wagga Wagga.

Growing up

I am originally from Tooma, about a 2 hour drive from Wagga Wagga. I doubt that anyone actually knows where that is so basically close to the Snowy Mountains and the National Park.

I lived on a cattle and sheep property for all 18 years of my life. This allowed me to find my love for all animals, specifically horses and dogs. I have loved riding for a while, and have competed in cattle events such as team penning and sorting. I have two younger brothers, which upon becoming teenagers got kind of stinky (and when I say kinda I mean a lot).

I started at Tumbarumba School and then transferred to Mater Dei Catholic College. Without being a religious person I didn’t know what to expect but it was the best experience of my life I made amazing life-long friends. While going to this school I also lived at a boarding house. It was a great experience and allowed me to have two amazing best friends who, when living with you, become very close.

My study choices

I am currently a first year at Wagga Wagga campus studying a Bachelor of Animal Science. I chose this course as it will allow me to start my career as a veterinarian. Though I do not view this course as a simple stepping stone to my main objective, I do however view it as a way of gaining more experience and allowing me to become familiar with university life. I decided not to stay on campus but have found an amazing share house with three other girls that are all advancing into their career as vets.

For as long as I can remember I have loved animals and always wanted to shape my future around them. Of course when I was younger I wanted to be a zoo keeper – but like who doesn’t! I did work experience at a local vet clinic once before and I knew that is what I wanted to do with my life (as long as no one brings me a frog, yuck).

As a person who grew up on a farm I know the nitty gritty that can be associated with this career and I am excited for the journey that is to come.

Aspirations for 2022

I don’t really see myself as a person who sets goals but for the rest of 2022 I hope to try as I might to do my best in all subjects across my first two sessions of animal science, and meet people in my course that have similar career objectives!

This is an SSAF funded initiative
Write for Charlie Graphic