Charles Sturt University logo
Six things you need to know about UniSport Nationals

Six things you need to know about UniSport Nationals

With UniSport Nationals just around the corner (being held from 1 July – 5 July), here is everything you need to know about the competition!

1. This year is the first time the UniSport Nationals competitions will take place

The UniSport Nationals have replaced the Uni Games, now a nation wide competition.

The goal is to enhance participation and competitiveness. The Nationals contain two flagship events, the UniSport Nationals Div 1 and 2, as well as a number of standalone competitions.

2. CSU is 1 of 42 universities competing in the Div 2 games

The Nationals events will see over 10,000 students attend and go head-to-head from all over Australia in a variety of sports.

3. We are sending 8 CSU teams to compete 

Of the 14 sports offered at the Div 2 games, CSU will be sending 8 teams in a variety of sports. This includes: Men’s Basketball, Women’s football, Men’s futsal, Mixed Netball, Women’s Netball, Women’s tennis, Men’s Touch and Women’s Volleyball.

4. The competition will be held at the Gold Coast

Athletes will be able to play on the same grounds that national and international icons have played on, competing in the world-class sporting arenas and facilities built for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

5. Athletes from every CSU campus are competing

Students from CSU’s Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Orange, Port Macquarie and Wagga Wagga campuses are all joining together to represent the CSU team at the games.

6. The top 2 winning teams in each sport from Nationals Div 2 will be promoted into Nationals Div 1 the following year

If successful, this means that our teams could progress into the Div 1 event, which sees the top 10 universities come together to compete across 33 sports to gain or retain championship status.

This is an SSAF funded initiative
Write for Charlie Graphic